Review: Norwegian Wood

Norwegian Wood
Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

5starstribal

Norwegian Wood a.k.a. Tokyo Blues is a classic, well … yes, there is a very good reason.

Honestly, there are many amazing reviews, papers and discussions analyzing this book, that I’ll just say I loved it, and it was interesting the way the topics like suicide/death, sex, idealism, politics, literature and human interactions (or lack of human interaction) were portrayed.

This book has making me do some research … THAT’S HOW MUCH I LIKED IT.

I need to understand some things … and the more I read about some symbolism in the book, the more intrigued I am. For example, Jay Rubin (the translator) made a comment on a forum

 

If you look at my HARUKI MURAKAMI AND THE MUSIC OF WORDS, though, on pp. 158-59, I emphasize the presence of death at the end of the book. The “four” occasions of lovemaking with Reiko seem deliberately to evoke the traditional Japanese association between “four” (shi) and “death” (shi): “By sleeping (four times) with Reiko, a sexually functional surrogate for the sexually dysfunctional Naoko, he implicitly chooses death and negativity (Naoko) over life (Midori); Toru will live with his memories of Naoko rather than give himself over to the vitality of Midori.”

 

So, I guess I’m super intrigued now, if I had knowledge about japanese society and culture in the 60’s and 70’s I’m sure I would be able to enjoy this book a lot more.

This is my second Murakami book, and Norwegian Wood is completely different from After Dark, however, both of them have this strange atmosphere to the story that sucks you in somehow, there is something about the writing that makes ordinary things seem extraordinary.

Yes, I will continue reading Murakami’s work.

ReviewedbyMags

Leave a Reply

