Grasping at Eternity (The Kindrily #1) by Karen Amanda Hooper

“You and me for eternity, remember? Don’t break your promise. It’s not your style.”

The Blurb …

Leave it to Maryah Woodsen to break the one rule that will screw up eternity: Never erase your memories. 

Before entering this life, Maryah did the unthinkable—she erased. Now, at seventeen years old, she’s clueless that her new adoptive family has known her for centuries, that they are perpetually reincarnated souls, and that they have supernatural abilities. Oh, and she’s supposed to love (not despise) Nathan, the green-eyed daredevil who saved her life.

Nathan is convinced his family’s plan to spark Maryah’s memory is hopeless, but his love for her is undying. After spending (and remembering) so many lifetimes together, being around an empty version of his soulmate is heart shattering. He hates acting like a stalker, but has no choice because the evil outcast who murdered Maryah in their last lifetime is still after her. 

While Maryah’s hunter inches closer, she and Nathan make assumptions and hide secrets that rip them further apart. Maryah has to believe in the magic within her, Nathan must have faith in the power of their love, and both need to grasp onto the truth before they lose each other forever—and discover just how lonely eternity can be. 

X-MEN meets MY NAME IS MEMORY in Karen Amanda Hooper’s latest young adult release.

My Thoughts…

The characters:

There are many amazing characters in this story but I’m only going to talk about Maryah and Nathaniel since the book is in their POVs.

Maryah/Mary: 17 years old, she has great memory and I think she’s a little insecure and doesn’t have a lot of self-esteem

Nathaniel/Nathan/Nate:  hot, gorgeous, handsome, Maryah thinks he’s like and angel or movie star, he’s a few months older than Maryah (in the book both of them turn 18 years old)

The story:

The story begins with Maryah and a terrible tragedy with her family. She doesn’t know it but she’s an Element (an exceptional soul) with supernatural gifts and part of an eternal family of souls (Kindrily).  “Between every life, we made our choice: erase or retain. As Elements, my kindrily and I were allotted a different set of rules than average humans. We chose when we’d return to our next life, and to whom we’d be born, allowing us to continuously retain our memories and ensure we stayed connected forever. No member had ever erased – until this lifetime.”

She has a soulmate: Nathaniel, but since she chose to erase she doesn’t remember anything. The eternal question is why she erase and sadly it isn’t answered it the book.

Maryah’s POV is of her life after the tragedy, her Kindrily and how she discovers the big secret of who she is.

Nathaniel’s POV describes with perfection his longing of Maryah, his disappointment because she doesn’t remember, and all his pain in a lovely and intense way.

Hotness factor: Low, this is not a hot and heavy kind of book, if you’re just looking for that don’t read it

Unpredictable factor: In a sense I wasn’t surprised because I guessed who were the bad guys and the trap, but I was amazed by the story, I didn’t expected to be like that, I thought it was just a story of two lovers trying to find each other, it’s much more than that, it’s wonderful and beautiful.

Verdict:  I love this book, LOVEEE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was a great discovery, I didn’t knew about the book until I saw it in Netgalley and I’m happy that I found it. I couldn’t stop reading the book, I read it in only one day, because of all my excitement I made 21 status updates in Goodreads (that’s a lot for me) and even before I finished the book I said to Mags “I need the second book right now!” and since she’s my very bestest friend in the whole wide world (see About she send me a link for a R4R for Taking Back Forever and I yelped like a total fangirl haha That’s how great this book was for me.

Rating: 5 great stars like them!!!! (if you read the book you’ll understand)

5starstribal

reviewed by irais v2

Book provided by NetGalley in exchange of an honest review.

2 thoughts on “Grasping at Eternity (The Kindrily #1) by Karen Amanda Hooper

  1. Yay! I’m glad you liked this book.
    I know how you feel, when you get all excited about books. I know I love a book if I devour it in one day. I almost finished this book in a day, but not quite.
    I loved the star concept in this book, and I thought it was seriously romantic, and sweet.
    I shall look forward to your review of Taking Back Forever! 😀

    • Yes, I fell in love with the descriptions of the souls and stars and when they “sensperience”.
      I’m actually finishing the review of Taking Back Forever right now, maybe we’ll upload it tomorrow or Monday.

Leave a Reply

