The 5th Wave (The Fifth Wave #1) by Rick Yancey

The Blurb…

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

My Thoughts…

(Insert dramatic voice here)
Alas! This book was very VERY hard to rate!!!!
It was so bad that it was good … so … yeah I loved it even though I know it’s cliché after cliché.
And if there is people giving 5 stars to The Selection, then I don’t feel guilty for giving The 5th Wave 5 stars …
(Remove dramatic voice)

Now you’re probably thinking, “Come on Mags! You gave the book 5 stars, it must be awesome ‘cause you have such good taste in books!!” …….. yeah ….. right … (sarcasm!)

ALIEN INVASION

First let keep in mind that the aliens’ numbers are only a few hundred thousand. So … how are a few hundred thousand super advanced aliens (who have been watching us, puny humans for hundred of years) going to get rid of 7 billion people?

They can’t arrive and “Yeah let’s kill them all!!!” because although they are super advanced, they don’t have the means to do a ID4 type of invasion. So, no, don’t expect this:


That pic is funny, look at the face of the woman, she’s like “Running from killer aliens is so fun! Wish I wasn’t wearing heels and a skirt!!”

So, what the Others, or the aliens, did, was a cute brainstorming of a method to get rid of humanity, and it went more or less like this:

The 1st wave: Lights Out
The aliens used their mojo and got rid of electricity. The planes, cars or any machine are dead. No phones, tv, internet, any type of communication is gone.

The 2nd wave: Surf’s Up
40% of the World’s population lives within 60 miles of a coastline.
So the aliens took a big heavy thing and dropped it from the upper atmosphere, so when it hit the ground, a big earthquake and tsunami finished with 3 billion people and the cities of NYC, London, Hong Kong, Rome, etc.

The 3rd wave: Pestilence
Do you need any more hints?? It’s a plague that killed 3.5 billion people. Oh and the plague was carried by birds. (See why I hate crows??)

The 4th wave: Silencer
This is the fun part I guess, the Others inserted/implanted/downloaded themselves inside human embryos, into their brains while they were on the mother’s womb. They grew up as humans, until their “awakening” when the alien conscience woke up and the human realized that he’s an alien mind trapped inside a human body. And the alien’s mission is to clean the earth from the remaining humans. How??? Using a silencer, you see …

Yep, so that’s the 4th wave, a bunch of possessed humans killing non possessed humans with guns, like snipers, hidden in the bushes or on top of buildings, waiting for their pray. And if you are a human survivor don’t trust anyone.

The 5th wave: ???
I won’t spoil, but I’ll give you a hint …

Now, about the characters … Let my ramble begin!!!

Cassie

Sixteen years old (because apparently you have to be a teen of 16 or 17 to survive the apocalypse in YA literature), normal girl who has been trough a lot (like losing her family, watching people get killed by the plague or the Others, she almost die a couple of times, she has no food or water and of couse, she has killed), and she also knows karate (that’s very convenient, I made a note so that when the time comes and I’m a mother, all my kids will be in Krav Maga classes!!!) and carries a gun and a teddy bear everywhere. The teddy bear is her brother’s. ( Similitudes with Angelfall you say??? NOOOOO!!! … that was sarcasm!! Yep, there are a few things that Cassie and Penryn have in common. ) She can kick ass, and she can also be a pain in the ass. Her POV can be … weird … sometimes. I don’t know it the author’s intention was to make her like that, or he just thinks that girls like Cassie think that way … Anyway, it’s a miracle the poor girl is still sane (is she?) so I blame all her weird attitude on her PTSD. It has to be … I mean, let me give you an example:

“After two tries, I manage to get on my feet. Time for angrily-storming-out-of-the-room part of the argument, while the guy fold his arms over his manly chest and pouts.”

I don’t know about you, but I have never, ever said in my whole life “manly chest” … I might have said “well defined pecs” one or twice, but manly chest … *roll eyes*

Want another example???

“I slice the material at both hips and peel back the underwear, exposing him. His butt is bad. I mean, bad as in peppered with shrapnel wounds. Otherwise is pretty good.”

Yeah, is the PTSD, hormones, stress and madness of the situation … right?? The PTSD.

But I’m willing to let those details pass, Cassie is a bad-ass when she has to … which is most of the time she’s not ogling Evan (his lips, silky hair, cuticles … yes … cuticles). It’s the PTSD.

“I may be the last one, but I am the one still standing. I am the one turning to face the faceless hunter in the woods on an abandoned highway. I am the one not running, not staying, but facing.”

Zombie

You know what’s inside his head???

So, like everybody else in the world, Zombie (which is not his real name) wants revenge. So he’s recruited by the military to fight against the Others.

I liked him, a lot!!! He’s 17 years old and he becomes his unit leader. He takes under his wing a 5 year old kid named Nugget. He’s a good guy, a bit dumb or naïve on some things but clever in others. What can I say??? I liked his POV much more than Cassie’s.

“But we’ll get up and put ourselves through seventeen hours of hell anyway. Because we will die, but at least we will die unbroken.”

The Silencer

What a lovely insipid character!!! I think my problem with him is that I need at least one more of his POV. Why?? Because I need to understand the why/how/when he did what he did.

As a character, he’s plain, no personality … I feel like he’s a robot, with an attempt of humor.

And he’s creepy, like … stalker creepy. I always criticize the stalkers (like Mr. Cullen) but … this time … it sort of works for the Silcencer. I mean, he wouldn’t be the creepy insipid weirdo alien he is without the stalking.

So what … sue me!!! I like him!!!

The Romance / Plot / Writing

The Romance … I didn’t buy it. Sorry but … it’s too insta-love for me. I get it that the loneliness and stress and the “you saved my life” factor play a huge part in Cassie’s feelings toward HIM. But HIS feelings for her are the ones I don’t get. Sorry but … not … still … I want them together (yes, I am a woman full of contradictions, deal with it).

The Plot …… well …….. I liked pretty much everything except for some convenient happy coincidences that … come on!!! Want an easy solution?? Put everybody in the same place at the same time!!!!

The Writing …….. it was good, I liked the style, BUT it was so damn repetitive!!! Let’s see the fun facts:

-The word chess is used 15 times in the book, almost 8 or 9 are Ringer’s dialogues. Does she always talk about chess??

-Vosch uses the phrase “You are human clay” with Zombie. Later Cassie uses the same phrase referring to Vosch. OMG!! Are they telepaths that exchange cheesy phrases???

Battlefield that word is sooo beautiful…

“And if this is humanity’s last war, then I am the battlefield.”
“And you will be my battlefield.”
“His hearth, the war. Her face, the battlefield.”
“My face and his, the one who saved me from drowning, who took my heart and made it a battlefield.”

And there are other things but … well … you get the idea.

So … why?? Why am I giving the book 5 stars???

Because even with all the flaws, I enjoyed this book a lot, much more than some other books I’ve read lately. I was glued to my kindle (ok … after the 40% I was glued) and yes, I love this book.

I want the love story to pick up!! BUT I don’t want a love triangle!!! Are you reading this Rick Yancey??? Probably not … still … I will virtually kick your ass if you make a love triangle!!!!

Ahh … guilty pleasure.

My Rating

5starstribal

ReviewedbyMags

12 thoughts on “The 5th Wave (The Fifth Wave #1) by Rick Yancey

  1. Lol, I did not pick up on the whole ‘human clay’ telepathy thing… Stupid me. I will help u kick ass if Rick Yancey decides to introduce a love triangle. 🙂 Perfect review!

  2. Your post made me laugh so hard, especially the cartoon with the woman running from aliens smiling and the kitten with the gun. You are twisted in a good way, sistah!

Leave a Reply

