The Storyteller by Antonia Michaelis

The Blurb …

Anna and Abel couldn’t be more different. They are both seventeen and in their last year of school, but while Anna lives in a nice old town house and comes from a well-to-do family, Abel, the school drug dealer, lives in a big, prisonlike tower block at the edge of town. Anna is afraid of him until she realizes that he is caring for his six-year-old sister on his own. Fascinated, Anna follows the two and listens as Abel tells little Micha the story of a tiny queen assailed by dark forces. It’s a beautiful fairy tale that Anna comes to see has a basis in reality. Abel is in real danger of losing Micha to their abusive father and to his own inability to make ends meet. Anna gradually falls in love with Abel, but when his “enemies” begin to turn up dead, she fears she has fallen for a murderer. Has she?

Award-winning author Antonia Michaelis moves in a bold new direction with her latest novel: a dark, haunting, contemporary story that is part mystery, part romance, and part melodrama.

My thoughts…

“The wolf didn’t reply. ‘You’re shivering,’ he said. ‘Do you believe that you could spin a thread of my blood? To make clothes from?’”

Maybe that’s not the most dramatic-heart-wrenching quote of the book, but in my opinion, this quote holds the essence of the story, of Abel.

If you are looking for a New Adult book with the typical NA-Formula of
“HOT GUY + HOT GIRL + TRAGIC PAST + SMEXY TIME + HEALING OF A BROKEN HEARTH” then go read something else.

If you can stomach raw cruel realistic fiction, then go ahead and read this book. Ohh but don’t get me wrong, there is a beautiful bittersweet story behind, this book is about LOVE, SACRIFICE and the INJUSTICE in life.

One day, Anna found a doll, hidden at school, and Abel claimed it belonged to his little sister Micha. Anna was intrigued; she followed him, met his sister, and became involved in their lives. Abel’s mother disappeared, and he was desperate to keep Micha by his side, because he was underage. Anna helped him take care of Micha.

Anna

At first, I disliked her a bit. Anna is a girl that has had a comfortable life, but she also feels trapped by so much perfection.

“Who was she? A girl inside a bubble. The daughter of Magnus and Linda Leemann, from a nice district of Griefswald, from a house of blue air. High school student in her last year, musician, English au pair to be. Gitta’s squeaky-clean little lamb. No. She was someone who didn’t know yet who she was or would be.”

Maybe is that motherly instinct, we girls have, to fix something broken that made Anna get involved with Abel and Micha, maybe it was the amazing talent Abel had for telling beautiful stories based in an ugly reality, or maybe it was the need of adventure … what ever the reason was, Anna took an important role in the story, in their lives, and she was so involved in the swirl of fire that was Abel and Micha’s lives that it sucked her up completely, it consumed her … and she got burned …

Abel

Oh boy … where do I start? How can I explain a character that … argh!!! He’s a protective brother, a drug dealer, an abused child, a selfless person, a great storyteller, a talented writer …. And he’s also so messed up that he makes bad choices, he has all that rage inside, he’s self-destructive, but also loyal, he’s violent, and tender, angry and intimidating, he’s afraid and he has hope and he had to grow up quickly and … and … and he’s blind to the other options around him, he’s vindictive … and … Just trying to figure him out drains me emotionally.

And that’s the thing with this book, it is a roller coaster of emotions and it challenged my moral and ethical principles, I was so immersed in the story that I found myself rooting for “unreasonable Anna”, I wanted her to make a bad choice, I was justifying Abel’s actions … and … NO … just … NO … as he said:

”There is a reason for what happened. I can’t be forgiven so I am not asking you for forgiveness. We lost each other, and we will never find each other again.”


Yeah!! That’s what I say about the boat house scene!!!!

By the end of the book, I was a mess … I was trying to cope and process and order my thoughts … this book was recommended to my by a friend, when she finished, she called me and said something like “I just finished ‘The Storyteller’ and I need to go out, let’s go for coffee because … I need to process this” ….. not her exact words, but you get the idea. Well … sadly I couldn’t go for coffee with her, but after I finished reading … I called her and told her “I get it, I do …. WHY DID YOU MAKE ME READ THIS DRAMATIC BOOK!!?? WHAT DID I EVER DO TO YOU!!?? THE PAIN!! SO MUCH PAIN!!”

Really, my reaction at the end was something like …

Now you are probably asking yourself … should I read this???
YES!!! READ IT!!!!
.
.
.
I don’t want to suffer alone …

My Rating…
5starstribal

ReviewedbyMags

Leave a Reply

