Free on Kindle – Dark House (Experiment in Terror #1) by Karina Halle … Review for the rest of the series as well …

Mags says: Dark House is Funny, witty and a bit scary!!!

Free at Amazon Kindle Store!!!

The Blurb…

There’s always been something a bit off about Perry Palomino. Though she’s been dealing with a quarter-life crisis and post-college syndrome like any other twenty-something, she’s still not what you would call “ordinary.” For one thing, there’s her past which she likes to pretend never happened, and then there’s the fact that she sees ghosts.

Luckily for her, that all comes in handy when she stumbles across Dex Foray, an eccentric producer for an upcoming webcast on ghost hunters. Even though the show’s budget is non-existent and Dex himself is a maddening enigma, Perry is instantly drawn into a world that both threatens her life and seduces her with a sense of importance. Her uncle’s haunted lighthouse provides the perfect catalyst and backdrop for a mystery that unravels the threads of Perry’s fragile sanity and causes her to fall for a man, who, like the most dangerous of ghosts, may not be all that he seems.

My thoughts… 
I’m writing this review after reading every single book from the series Experiment in Terror … ok not every single one, today I’m finishing Old Blood novella. Anyway … I’m using this review as a review for the series … so I’m giving 5 stars, altough this book deserves 3 😛

If you are thinking in getting into the series, let me tell you that after 6 books … the story about Dex and Perry keeps getting better and better.

DO IT!! READ THIS AWESOME SERIES NOW!!!!

I’ve always had a fascination for horror films. When I was a kid, and my friends went to my house for sleepovers, we always watched scary movies with the light off and some candles, just to feed the creepy atmosphere. Later, I grew up and the horror movies in the market became more gore than good old horror, so I quit watching that stuff. Also, growing up I lost my guts and honestly … now I have a chicken heart … yep, I’m easy to scare. That’s why at the beginning I had my doubts about reading this book.

Well, I shouldn’t have worried. It’s scary, yes, but not super mega scary. I can handle it… as long as my imagination doesn’t play games with me at night (you know, the funny sounds, shadows, etc etc).

Experiment in Terror has everything you can ask for in a series:

-Suspense and action.
-Chemistry and banter between the main characters.
-Romance: slow built and I like it that way.
-Flawed complex characters.
-Great soundtrack: Mhhhhh ok not exactly but the music choices the author mentioned in the books are very good 😀
-A couple of cliffhangers.
-Unpredictability, not everything is crystal clear.
-A great male POV: I hate it when some female authors use a male POV and the guy seems like a girl on testosterone or a guy in estrogen …. in The Dex-Files and And With Madness Comes the Light Dex is perfectly characterized as the beautiful flawed vicious douche son of a bitch that he is … *swoons*
-Smexy time.
-Support characters: Ada, Max, Rebecca, Bird, Pippa, Perry’s parents … I like the others characters. And is nice to see other great female characters in the series, aside from the MC (In some series only the MC is a strong female, the rest are a bunch of sluts …. not in this one 😀 ). Rebecca and Ada play an important role.
-Keeps getting better and better, every book is better or equal to the last.
-And the most important thing … EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THE BOOKS IS A PAGE TURNER.SO, I say you give it a chance.

My Rating…
5starstribal

ReviewedbyMags

3 thoughts on “Free on Kindle – Dark House (Experiment in Terror #1) by Karina Halle … Review for the rest of the series as well …

Leave a Reply

