The Eternity Cure (Blood of Eden, #2) by Julie Kagawa

The Blurb…

Allison Sekemoto has vowed to rescue her creator, Kanin, who is being held hostage and tortured by the psychotic vampire Sarren. The call of blood leads her back to the beginning—New Covington and the Fringe, and a vampire prince who wants her dead yet may become her wary ally.

Even as Allie faces shocking revelations and heartbreak like she’s never known, a new strain of the Red Lung virus that decimated humanity is rising to threaten human and vampire alike.

My thoughts…

Blood of Eden is one of my fav series, I love it … LOOOOVE it … I have the books in digital format for kindle and paperback (I’m still waiting for the paperback BookDepository!!! Hurry!!! And why … why change the covers?? Now my collection will look weird … anyway). This is the series that I will force my friends and hubby to read!!!

OK … now that I professed my unconditional love the dystopian-vampire world Julie Kagawa created … let’s get to the review.

After getting Zeke and his party to the safety of Eden, Ally begins her quest to find and free Kanin from the evil claws of crazy psychotic lunatic dangerous sadistic Sarren. Mhhh yes, that is a good description of him …

“Your scream, such a glorious song. I imagined how it would sound for years. Your blood, your flesh, your bones – I imagined it all. Breaking them. Tasting them.” He runs a finger down my throat. “You were mine to break, to peel apart, so I could see the rotted soul that lies beneath this shell of meat and blood. It was to be a magnificent requiem.”

So, Ally feels Kanin’s blood calling and that’s how she looks for Kanin, following that call but at some point, she stumbles not with Kanin, but with another member of her bloodline: Jackal. And let the fun begin!! Jackal is an amazing character, he’s funny, sarcastic, sadistic, intelligent and arrogant. He helps balance the book with his humor.

After a moment, Jackal bared his fangs in a savage grin. “Well, color me shocked – the human actually has a pair. He might survive the Inner City, after all.”

Ally and Jackal make a truce and look for Kanin, together. And that is exactly what I wanted to see in the book, the relationship development between Ally and Jackal, as siblings. Yes, there are some rumors of a love triangle but I doubt it … well … Love triangle or not, I wanted to see them coexisting together (more detailed than what already is), a feeding scene would have been nice (You know, Jackal looking for a human blood bag and Ally’s reaction, etc). Because at some point Ally told Zeke that she wasn’t sure she would help him kill Jackal and I was like … ok so when did the love between brother and sister appeared??… and I want to know what changed her mind about Jackal.

In the quest for Kanin, Ally and Jackal encountered Zeke (come on it’s not exactly a spoiler, you knew he had to appear in the book!!! He’s the love interest!!!) and … *swoons*. I love Zeke … he is like … the perfect mix between Hunger Games’ Peeta and Divergent’s Four. He’s kind, sweet, loyal … he represents everything humanity lost … and he can also kick ass!!! What I mean is that people living in the vampire cities live on a “day-to-day basis” … the “it’s you or me / kill or be killed / full survival mode” and nobody worries about anyone else but themselves, but not Zeke. He worries and takes care of his people, that’s what I mean when I say that the represents what humanity has lost. And I like how he fits with Ally, they complement each other.

“Only death will take me away from you, vampire girl,” he whispered. “And even then, I’ll watch over you from whatever I end up.”

Ally had some character growth, and as usual, she’s strong, determined and a great heroine. But I think she needs a friend … ok … a girl-friend. Come to think about it, she is the only female character in the book. There is a brief introduction to a female vampire prince but then … there is only Ally. I want more female presence.

About the plot… there is a new virus, an evolution that threatens to kill everybody, vampire and human, and the cure … the cure!! That was too easy, too convenient. I wanted something else, more complicated … *sigh*

Now … the end … that fucking end …

I knew it … I knew THAT was going to happen, I knew what HE was going to do … but … I was at the 94% when a feeling of dread invaded me and I was scared of reading because everything was fine and I wanted to hold on that happy ending but NOOOOOOO, then … then THAT happened and … and …

Why??? Why are you doing this to me Julie Kagawa???

Now I have to wait a year!!!????

I just … I can’t … I can’t wait that long … I need the third book now … NOW DAMNIT!!!!

And I don’t care if other people think this book was slow and not as amazing as the first one … I DON’T CARE because I love this book, every single part of it!!!!!!! Every single page!!!!

And you Stick … you …




And I will enjoy it ……

My Rating…
5starstribal

ReviewedbyMags

Leave a Reply

